Nicola Gear

Nicola Gear 

I work in traditional and digital media, producing work for both public places and exhibitions.  My work is often site-specific and uses a broad range of materials and methodologies.  A central element in all my work is drawing, often developing into installations and performances using digital media, particularly sound.

Voices web archive 2004_click on object for story page_NICOLA GEARVoices Installation performance_Tramway Glasgow 2004

I question how objects and landscape contain memory, I gather information mapping time and examine the boundaries between public and private space.  I involve people actively in the process as well as in the presentation of my work through interactive installations and collaboration.

Part of my time is spent working in the isolation of my studio and part working with people in their context; by working alongside people with different jobs and lives, their perspectives on art have an effect on the process and the finished work.

Banff Performances 2010_Bourgeau Xcountry skiing_NICOLA GEAR

I have been a practicing visual artist since leaving Goldsmiths College, London University in 1990.  During this time I have worked and lived in many places, often earning my keep from a variety of different jobs.  These different facets of life have fed into or distracted me from being an artist.  I have worked as a cook in a centre for asylum seekers, have studied discourse analysis and oral history and am a keen rock climber.  Since 2010 I have lived on a boat on the Caledonian Canal in Inverness.  I run a small events space and residency program aboard Loch Ness Barge and I also work a croft in Diabaig, by Torridon.

Leave a comment